U14 Double Champions

Pearses 3-12 Michael Cusacks 0-7: The Club’s U14s added to their growing list of titles yesterday evening in Duggan Park, Ballinasloe as they powered away from Michael Cusacks in the final quarter of the B1 Hurling Championship Final. They outscored Cusacks 3-2 to 0-0 in that period, to complete the a Féile and Championship double. A great boost before they head off to Antrim for the All-Ireland Féile on the weekend of 19th to 21st June.
Dean Reilly and Óisin Flannery, as in the Féile final, had a big parts to play in the win. Reilly put Pearses two up early on. Cusacks with the aid of a strong breeze levelled it, 0-2 each. However, in the remainder of the first period Pearses outscored the Beagh-Kilbeacanty team 0-6 to 0-2, against the wind. Reilly caused havoc with his pace and himself (5) and Óisin Flannery (3) were the scorers as Pearses lead 0-8 to 0-4 at half-time. Cusacks had their share of chances and pushed for goals when points seemed a better option. Darragh McCabe made some smart saves between the Pearses posts to deny them.
Pearses extended their lead to 6 just after half time, Cathal Kitt and Oisin Flannery with points from play. Cusacks didn’t give up and scored the next three to bring the margin back to three. Pearses broke that momentum and attacked at the other end, yielding a brilliant individual goal from Dean Reilly. He cut in from the left beating several defenders and finished to the net.
Two minutes later Óisin Flannery had the ball in the net again for Pearses, 2-10 to 0-7. Any hope of a Cusacks comeback was now gone. He tacked on two more points, a free and a super effort from the right wing. Cian Murphy put the final nail in the coffin when his lobbed shot ended up in the net, deceiving the Cusacks keeper, who had been excellent up until then.
County Juvenile Hurling Chairman, Michael Hehir presented the cup to Pearses captain Eoghan McCabe and Juvenile Hurling Sponsor, Tom Monaghan (Western Hygiene Supplies) presented Dean Reilly with the Man of the Match award. The lads have another chance at silverware on Friday evening as they take on Kilconly in the Football League Final in Corofin (at 7.30pm) and then on to the All-Ireland Féíle later in the month!
Pearses: D McCabe, B Kelly, E McCabe, N Moran, D Reilly (1-5), S Hynes, R Hynes, J Barrett, M Hennelly, C Murphy (1-0), C Kitt (0-1), O Flannery (1-6), L Mitchell, G Kenny, J Mitchell. Subs: Eoin Lally, Ethan Lally, R Fahey, E Barry.