U13 Hurlers Book Final Date

Pearses 1-5 Annaghdown 1-2: Our U13 hurlers booked their place in the U13C Final this evening at the home of Galway Football andamp;ndash; Tuam Stadium. On dull and damp evening in the famed North Galway venue Pearses started well and went on to dominate the first half in a low-scoring affair. The score at half-time: Pearses 0-5 Annaghdown 0-1. Oisin Flannery, as in the Quarter-Final, was the main threat up front, scoring four of the five points, Dylan Grady with the other.
The second-half got under way as darkness began to descend and with eight minutes gone Oisin Flannery had the ball in the Annaghdown net, to extend the Pearses lead. Considering Annaghdown’s 0-1 to that point Pearses seemed to be home and dry. This, however would be the last Pearses score as they held off an Annaghdown revival in the final Quarter. They hit 1-1 to cut the margin to just three points. Indeed they could well have levelled the game, when a last minute penalty was stopped on the Pearses line.
Pearses now advance to play Ballinasloe (who defeated Sylane in the other Semi-Final this evening) in the Final. The teams have already met this year, with Ballinasloe running out narrow winners (2-4 to 1-4), Pearses’ only defeat in the Group stages. Date and time for the Final TBC.
Pearses: Darragh McCabe; Eoghan McCabe, Ronan Flannery, Niall Moran; Shane Hynes, Stephen Doran, Jack Barrett; Dylan Grady (0-1), Dean Reilly; Geordan Kenny, Cathal Kitt, Tomandamp;aacute;s Carr; Mark Hennelly, Oisin Flannery (1-4), Conor Burke.