Silver Jubilee of 1995 Intermediate Win

2020 marks 25 years since Pádraig Pearses hurlers captured the Club’s third County Intermediate title in 1995. With the current restrictions in place the Club’s usual social gathering to mark this milestone cannot take place.

Having been relegated in 1994, this victory seen Pearses become the first club to make an immediate return to the Senior ranks. They defeated Beagh and Tynagh in the group stages and were defeated by Tommy Larkins. A play-off win over Beagh seen them into the knockout stages. Further wins followed in the quarter-final against Oranmore-Maree and in the semi-final against Killimor.

Meelick-Eyrecourt awaited in the final on Sunday, October 8th. Pearses came through on a scoreline of 0-14 to 1-8 in Kenny Park. Tom O’Brien top scored and lifted the Mick Sylver cup for the second time as captain of the team. The win was a welcome distraction for the parish at the time, given the tragic loss of Catherine Donnellan and Bridget O’Grady earlier in the year.

Team: John O’Grady, Emmet Lydon, Sean O’Neill, Mike Carr, PJ O’Connell, Seamus Lawless, John Jenkins, Tony O’Brien, Francis O’Brien (0-3), Joe Fahy (0-2), Noel Carr (0-1), Padraic Murray, Mike O’Brien, Kieran Hillary, Tom O’Brien (0-8, 6f).

Subs used: Dermot Hillary, Tom O’Grady.

Subs: Pairic Hillary, Gerry Murphy, Eoin Barrett, Martin Scarry, Pádraig Quinn, Dermot Lydon, Terry Murray, Keith Murphy, Anthony Kenny, Sean Byrnes, Kevin Ryan, Brendan Hardiman.

Manager/Trainer: Sean Dwyer. Selectors: Tom Kenny, Michael Bodkin.