Senior C’ship Rd. 1

Pearses 2-12 Ardrahan 0-16: Pearses got their 2016 Championship campaign off to a winning start in Kenny Park on Saturday. After a tight opening half Pearses held a one-point lead at half-time. Ardrahan went two points up 10 minutes into the second half. The teams were level again after 49 minutes, before an Emmet Ward goal on 55 minutes put Pearses back in front. Although Ardrahan hit two of the last three points, Pearses prevailed.
The teams shared five points in the opening 10 minutes. Ardrahan led by the minimum, when Tom Flannery was through on goal with just the keeper to beat. He was fouled and Cyril Donnellan stepped up to send the 21 yard free to the net, putting Pearses in front for the first time, 1-2 to 0-3. After 23 minutes the teams were level, 1-4 to 0-7. Ger Hennelly accurate from frees for the South Galway men, while Donnellan and Flannery added to Pearses tally. 
There was a stoppage in play following a collision in which Sean Hardiman came out the worse for wear, having to be replaced by Colm Raftery. On the resumption Pearses had two of the remaining three scores of the half to lead by one at the break. One of them another 21 yard free, which Donnellan blasted just over.
A Ronan Bellew point from play put Pearses two up just after the break, but Ardrahan fought back to go two in front on 43 minutes, 0-12 to 1-7. In the next ten minutes Pearses outscored Ardrahan 0-4 to 0-2. Cormac Ward’s introduction from the bench causing the Ardrahan defence problems. The teams were now level heading into the final eight minutes.
The decisive score arrived on 55 minutes, a good run and pass by Gary Lally, created the chance for Emmet Ward, who finished to the net from 21 yards. A three point lead for Pearses, 2-11 to 0-14. In the closing stages Ardrahan pushed hard for scores, but managed only points, sandwiched either side of a long range Ronan Bellew free. Pearses play last year’s County Finalists Craughwell in Round 2 next Saturday 30th at 7pm in Kenny Park.
Pearses: F Flannery; A Bellew, T Kenny, R Lally; D Wynne, K Hardiman (0-1), L Murphy; C Donnellan (1-3), J Gelston (0-1); R Bellew (0-2), E Ward (1-1), S Hardiman; G Lally, T Flannery (0-3), B Sweeney. Subs used: C Raftery (0-1), C Ward, R O’Neill.