Minors Exit at Semi-Final Stage

Tommy Larkins 5-13 Pearses 0-14. Tommy Larkins were deserving winners in today’s Minor ‘B’ Hurling final, played in Loughrea. Their better ability on the day to put away goal chances was the difference. Whenever Pearses seemed like playing their way back into the game, Larkins undid that good work with goals at the other end.

Pearses without the services of Dean Reilly, took the lead from an early Oisin Flannery free, but two goals from Larkins in the 4th and 5th minute gave our lads hill to climb. Pearses responded well hitting three of the next four points of the game. Flannery on target from two frees and Luke Mitchell from play, 2-1 to 0-4 after 10 minutes.

The remainder of the half Larkins took control and scored 9 of the 10 points in this twenty minute spell. Cian Murphy landed Pearses’ only point. The game could have been closer at half-time, but some scoring chances did go astray for our lads and Cian Murphy was denied by a fine save from the Larkins keeper. Half-time: Larkins 2-10 Pearses 0-6.

Pearses had a good start to the second half with five points in-a-row. Oisin Flannery showed great leadership from centre-forward, with all five points, three from play. Pearses were back in the game, with 40 minutes gone, 2-10 to 0-11. Flannery again, went low from a 21 yard free into the town end, but it was well saved on the line.

A goal at the other end after 42 minutes undid Pearses good work previous to that and even though Flannery hit back with a free, Larkins had the ball in the net again after 44 minutes, 4-10 to 0-12. The teams shared the next six points evenly, but Pearses needed goals. Despite their best efforts, they couldn’t break down a solid Larkins backline. The final nine minutes of the game seen just one score, the fifth Larkins goal.

Pearses: Cathal Kitt; Eoin Lally, Niall Moran, Robert Hynes; Mark Hennelly, Jack Barrett, Brian Kelly; Geordan Kenny, Diarmuid Fahey; Luke Mitchell (0-1), Oisin Flannery (0-11), C Murphy (0-2); Ethan Lally, Shane Hynes, James Mitchell. Subs: Conor Moran.