Junior C Shield Final

Carnmore 2-13 Pearses 3-5: This game in Kenny Park, Athenry was in the melting pot right up to the final minutes. The turning point came with ten minutes remaining, when a goalkeeping error seen Carnmore have a second goal to take the lead and from there to the finish they never looked back. However, with 15 wides over the hour, Pearses should have been further ahead at that point.
The early exchanges were evenly matched and Carnmore were more economical with their scoring chances, they led 0-2 to 0-0 after 10 minutes. When they added a goal two minutes later to extend that lead, it looked as though Carnmore could pull away. To Pearses credit they responded well and had their best spell of the game from then until half-time, outscoring Carnmore 2-4 to 0-2.andamp;nbsp;
Pandamp;aacute;iric Hillary was on target from a free, as well as points from Niall Barrett and Paul Bellew. Carnmore added two pointed frees, to restore a four point lead. Pearses then hit a quick fire 2-1 to take the lead for the first time. The first goal coming from a David Cunniffe free, to cut the gap to one point. Keith Murphy hit the second goal and Declan Lawless added a point from play, so the teams went in at the break with Pearses three points up, 2-4 to 1-4. It should have been more given the wides tally and the wind advantage.
Carnmore started the second half well and hit three points in-a-row to level the game. A Niall Barrett goal put Pearses back in the lead, 3-4 to 1-7. Carnmore were picking off their chances and pulled the margin back to one, before they struck for a second goal, to hit the front. From there until the finish they outscored Pearses 0-4 to 0-1 (Alan Naughton), to run out 5 point winners.
Pearses: Rory Treacy; Brendan Raftery, Seandamp;aacute;n Kelly, Tom Carr; Darren Burke, Eoghan Barrett, Paul Scarry; Pandamp;aacute;iric Hillary (0-1), Niall Barrett (1-1); David Cunniffe (1-0), Ollie Laheen, Paul Bellew; Declan Lawless (0-1), Keith Murphy (1-0), Colm Queeney. Subs used: Alan Naughton (0-1), Damien Mannion, Micheal Kelly, Adrian Queeney, Martin Campbell.