2014 Hurling Review

For our Senior hurlers 2014 was a tough year. An injury epidemic dented hopes of returning to a third successive Quarter-Final. Players like Cyril Donnellan, Fearghal Flannery and 2013 Player of the Year, Cormac Ward were missed and Pearses slipped into the relegation dogfight. The team ground out a crucial win over Kinvara on the last day to secure Senior status. Credit to the players and management for showing such resolve.
The highlight of the Senior year was a one point win over 2012-13 All-Ireland Club Champions St. Thomas’. It was a last minute Robbie Donnellan point that clinched the win. One of the upsets of the Championship and one that will live long in the memory of all in attendance. A result that proved that on any day this team is capable of beating the best.
Thanks to the 2013 Senior Management of John Raftery, Martin Tierney and Gerry Kearney. Martin Tierney takes over the reins of the Seniors for 2015 and we wish him and his management team all the best for the coming year.
The extended run of our Junior ‘B’ hurlers in the Championship helped in no small way with the Senior relegation fight. Several of our Junior B’s were crucial to the afore mentioned Senior survival mission. Kinvara ended Pearses’ involvement in the Junior ‘B’ Semi-Final Replay, a late goal the killer blow. Our Junior ‘C’ team ended up in a Shield Final again this year, going down by three points also to Kinvara.
Our U21 hurlers, lost out narrowly to Kinvara and Liam Mellows, meaning an early exit from the Championship. Many of the starting team have at least another year left at the grade, with some of them also important members of the Senior panel. Thanks to team manager Tomandamp;aacute;s Kenny and Selectors Emmet Ward, Adrian Bellew and Tommy McDonagh.
Our Minor hurlers qualified for the knockout stages. A Quarter-Final win over Abbeyknockmoy set up a rematch with Michael Cusacks who they defeated in the group. Unfortunately the result wasnandamp;rsquo;t replicated as we succumbed to defeat. Thanks to Manager Anthony Kenny along with Martin Scarry, William Dilleen, Kevin Lally and Pandamp;aacute;draig Murray.
Our U16andamp;rsquo;s won three, lost three and drew with Kiltormer meaning we entered the Shield competition. Against Kiltormer again in the Sheild semi-final, we unfortunately lost out in a high-scoring game. Credit to Paul Oandamp;rsquo;Brien, Kevin Connell, Martin Campbell, Gabriel Flannery and Enda Cunniffe.
Our U14andamp;rsquo;s lost out narrowly to Michael Cusacks in their semi-final despite defeating them in the group. In the Fandamp;eacute;ile competition hosted in Ballymacward we lost out to Carnmore and a strong Gort outfit before defeating Michael Cusacks. Thanks to Mick Carr, Des McCabe, EoghanBarrett, Gabriel Flannery and Declan Moran.
One of the highlights of our year was our U13C County title win, a second in succession in this grade. The team won 6 games in the group before overcoming Annaghdown and Sylane in the semi-final and final respectively. Once again it showed the dominance and power of a very talented group of players. Again a big thank you to Mick Carr, Des McCabe, Eoghan Barrett, Gabriel Flannery and Declan Moran.
Our U12andamp;rsquo;s while challenged with numbers won some games and performed excellently. Given the small numbers at this age group the team were dependent and grateful for the contribution of four girls to strengthen the squad. This is a big challenge going forward for this group and one was brilliantly handled this year by Eddie Mitchell as Manager.
Our U10andamp;rsquo;s once again competed in the East Galway League. The U10andamp;rsquo;s and U8andamp;rsquo;s trained at 12pm every Sunday and this year incorporated football training along with hurling sessions. Our U8andamp;rsquo;s played their first ever football match in Mountbellew. A great deal of thanks is owed to Manager Martin Scarry as well as selectors Adrian Queeney, Sean Oandamp;rsquo;Neill and Micheandamp;aacute;l Kelly for their work and also to all parents for their support.
Congratulations to Ronan Bellew who represented the Galway Minors again this year, Brian Sweeney at U17 and to Ronan Oandamp;rsquo;Neill with the Galway U16s. Conor Oandamp;rsquo;Neill who was a member of the U15andamp;rsquo;s and Ronan Flannery with the Galway U14andamp;rsquo;s.