U16s Through To Final

Pearses U16s defeated Sarsfields in a high-scoring encounter in Athenry yesterday evening, on a scoreline of 6-7 to 5-6, to book their place in this year’s County U16B Hurling Final. It was Sarsfields however who got off to the better start when full-forward Rory Lawless had the ball in the net inside the first minute. Lee Murphy responded immediately with a goal and centre-back Ronan Bellew tagged on a point from play for Pearses before Ian Kelly responded for the Bullaun/New Inn side to level the game. Pearses however took the iniative and went on to dominate the remainder of the first half, one of the highlights of which was a brilliant solo goal from Bellew, with Keith Connell also finding the net. Brian Sweeney bagged a first half tally of four points, three from frees. Sarsfields had the last score of the half, a point from a free by Ian Kelly to leave Pearses well in control at the break, 3-5 to 1-2. Sarsfields started the second half, like in the first half, very well, with a goal from Kelly. Pearses again responded quickly, with green flags from Murphy and Connell. Sarsfields reduced the deficit with an Eric Kenny goal and points from Cathal Keane and Kelly. Then the suberb Ronan Bellew edged his side further ahead with a mighty long range point. Sarsfields full-back Daniel Donoghue was switched to the forward-line to try and pull back the Pearses lead and did manage a well taken point. Substitute Sean Poland pointed and Kevin Cooney found the net to keep Sarsfields hopes alive, but yet again Pearses hit back within minutes, with a goal and a point from Gary Hennelly. Kelly got a consolation goal just before the final whistle to leave Pearses ahead by four points.
Sarsfields fought in vain in the second half to try and cut back the 9 point half-time lead, but Pearses always looked in control. Pearses now advance to the Final where they will play Cappataggle, who had a resounding 20 point win over Kilnadeema-Leitrim in the other semi-final, which followed this game.Padraig Pearses: J. Healy; S. Murray, T. Carr, K. Clancy; R. Carr, R. Bellew (1-2, 1f), P. Lally; B. Sweeney (0-4, 3f), R. O’Neill; D. Naughton, S. Skehill, K. Connell (2-0); D. Byrnes, G. Hennelly, (1-1) L. Murphy (2-0).Sarsfields: M. Wade; J. Morrissey, D. Donoghue (0-1), N. Kenny; D. Maher, I. Fox, E. Kenny (1-0); K. Cooney, L. Donoghue; C. Moore, I. Kelly (2-3, 1f), J. Lawless; C. Keane, R. Lawless (1-0), K. Cooney. Subs: D. Cannon for C. Moore (21 mins)