U16 Through To Co. Final

Pearses 3-13 Michael Cusacks 1-17: The Club’s U16 hurlers qualified for the U16B final today with an extra-time win over Michael Cusacks in Kenny Park, Athenry. Pearses fell behind by six points in the first half and four in the second half of normal time, but both times fought their way back into the game and finally come out on top.
The Beagh-Kilbeacanty team, with the breeze, led by 0-7 to 0-1 after 15 minutes of the game. Pearses had shot some wides and also been reduced to 14 men, losing Dylan Grady to a red card. Fortunes changed when Oisin Flannery and then Dean Reilly both found the net for Pearses to level the game and Cusacks were also reduced to 14. A Flannery free seen Pearses go in at half-time one in front, 2-2 to 0-7.
Despite Flannery and Reilly frees, Cusacks had taken a one point lead back by the 10th minute of the second half. It could have been more, but for a shot which came off Darragh McCabe’s goalpost. There were further goal chances at both ends, Dean Reilly’s shot well saved and Cusacks this time rattling the crossbar. The South Galway team hit the next three points to lead 1-11 to 2-4. A long range Ronan Flannery free got Pearses moving again and brother Oisin had the ball in the net two minutes later, level again. There was one further point each from both sides as the game finished level.
There were just three scores in the first half of extra time. Pearses one in front at the switch of ends. Cusacks struck three of the first five points of the second half to tie the game yet again, going into the final five minutes. Cian Murphy from play and Oisin Flannery converted a placed ball to make it 3-12 to 1-16. Cusacks replied, closing the gap to one and earned a 21 yard free which was blocked on the Pearses goal-line. Another Oisin Flannery free at the other end was the insurance score which seen Pearses over the line, after an epic struggle between two evenly matched sides.
Pearses now await the winners of the Ardrahan v Kilconieron Semi-Final to be played next week.
Pearses (Panel): D McCabe, E McCabe, R Flannery (0-1), N Moran, M Hennelly, S Hynes, S Doran, J Barrett, D Grady, G Kenny, O Flannery (2-10), D Healy, T Carr, D Reilly (1-1), J Mitchell. Subs: C Burke, C Kitt, R Hynes, C Murphy (0-1), B Kelly, L Mitchell, Ethan Lally, Eoin Lally.