Championship is Back

The County Senior Championship begins this weekend, with Pearses taking on Tynagh/Abbey-Duniry in the First Round, Saturday evening at 6.45pm in Ballinasloe. Referee is Alan Kelly. The game is preceeded by the clash of former All-Ireland kingpins Castlegar and Kiltormer at 5pm. Tynagh/Abbey-Duniry gained Senior status in 2009, after a victory over Meelick-Eyrecourt in the Intermediate Final Replay. Pearses of course were promoted the following year, after the Intermediate Final victory over Killimor. Tynagh/Abbey-Duniry were the surprise packets of the Senior Championship that year, making it all the way to the Semi-Final, before crashing out to eventual Champions Clarinbridge. Last year however they made less headway, losing their opening Group game to Carnmore, before exiting in a Preliminary Quarter-Final. The prize for the winners of this game is a place in the Group stages proper. Tynagh/Abbey-Duniry will be bolstered by members of last year’s Minor winning team, Shane Moloney, Paul Killeen and Padraic Brehony. Pearses’ will be led by County players Cyril Donnellan and Fergal Flannery, who both put in impressive displays for Galway in their recent Relegation win over Dublin. This promises to be an entertaining battle, so please come along and support the team.