U13 County Hurling Champions!

Pearses 1-6 Ballinasloe 1-3: Our U13 hurlers claimed the County U13C title, defeating Ballinasloe, yesterday evening in Duggan Park. Half way through the second half it, when 1-1 from Ballinasloe had overturned Pearses’ half-time lead, it looked ominous. However, Pearses responded brilliantly, scoring 1-3 in the final quarter to emerge as deserving Champions.
Pearses started well and were 0-2 to 0-0 up after seven minutes, thanks to points from Marc Hennelly and an excellent solo run effort by Cathal Kitt, from a tight angle in the scoreboard corner. Ballinasloe then began to fight their way back into the game and their first score arrived in the 12th minute from a Ronan Parker free, his second placed ball.
Ballinasloe had the better of the exchanges from there until half-time, but just could not work scoring chances against a tight Pearses defence. Oisin Flannery added Pearses’ third point, against the run of play, to put Pearses two up again, 0-3 to 0-1. Goal chances had been few and far between, but Ballinasloe worked a goal chance just before half-time and were unlucky to see it go just wide.
Ballinasloe continued their ascendancy into the second half and by the tenth minute had taken the lead, following 1-1 from star performer Ronan Parker. Pearses to their credit did not wilt. Dylan Grady ended Pearses’ barren scoring spell with a well taken point from play, followed quickly by an Oisin Flannery free.
Good work by Man of the Match Geordan Kenny then created space for a Mossy Carr point from play in the 16th minute, to put Pearses back in the lead. Ballinasloe’s Ronan Parker levelled the game again, with a pointed free a minute later. With just three minutes remaining it was set up for a grand stand finish.
Most of the play in the closing stages was in the Ballinasloe half of the field and they were holding out well. Spectators had started to discuss if Extra-Time would be played in the event of a draw. However in the 19th minute, Oisin Flannery struck for the killer goal into the town end to break Ballinasloe hearts.
It was a cruel way for Ballinasloe to lose, but overall they were probably over reliant on excellent centre-forward Parker. Pearses’ leadership burden was more evenly shared. Ronan Flannery and Eoghan McCabe were best in a solid defence. Dylan Grady never tired in midfield and Geordan Kenny and Oisin Flannery were in best in attack. There was great excitement afterwards as County Juvenile Chairman, Michael Hehir presented the Pearses Captain, Dylan Grady, with the Cup.andamp;nbsp;
Pearses: Darragh McCabe; Eoghan McCabe, Ronan Flannery, Niall Moran; Shane Hynes, Stephen Doran, Jack Barrett; Dylan Grady (0-1), Dean Reilly; Geordan Kenny, Cathal Kitt (0-1), Mossy Carr (0-1); Marc Hennelly (0-1), Oisin Flannery (1-2), Cian Murphy. Subs: Luke Mitchell, Conor Burke, Darragh Healy, James Friel, Robert Hynes, Eoin Lally, Ethan Lally, Jack Bellew.
Man of the Match: Geordan KennyReferee: Trevor Barrett (Ahascragh-Fohenagh)