Junior Cs into Semi-Final

After a long wait for a first win, on the field, our Junior C hurlers have now put wins back to back. This 3-17 to 1-7 Shield Quarter-Final victory over Kinvara today in Carnmore means they have scored a total of 6-31 in their two most recent games. Following the heavy rain, there were doubts whether this game would go ahead, but the Carnmore pitch was in great shape.
Pearses had 0-5 on the board by the time Kinvara hit their first point of the day after 12 minutes. Kinvara had withdrawn one of their corner-forwards by this stage, to try and halt Pearses domination around the middle. Despite this, Pearses’ continued to control the game and had added another 1-6 by the 28th minute. Keith Murphy with the goal and Pandamp;aacute;iric Hillary, Declan Lawless, David Cunniffe and Tom Carr with points. Kinvara hit two points in the final 5 minutes of the first half as Pearses took the foot off the pedal. Half-time score: 1-10 to 0-3.
Kinvara were better after the restart and hit the first point of the second half, but Pearses soon rediscovered their form. Declan Lawless and Keith Murphy were continuing to cause problems in the inside line and Lawless found the net, after two previous chances had been kept out. Kinvara hit back at the other end, but Pearses wiped out their progress again, when a long range Pairic Hillary free made it all the way to the net.andamp;nbsp;
Niall Barrett and the newly introduced Alan Naughton added points to stretch the lead to 3-14 to 0-6. Kinvara, for once, broke through the tight Pearses backline for a goal, but again the response at the other end was good, with points from Naughton, Lawless and Hillary to close out the game and wrap up a convincing win.
This was probably the best display of the year to date, with good displays all over the field. On to the Semi-Final, with details of that game to be confirmed.
Pearses: Rory Treacy; Brendan Raftery, Sean Kelly, Tom Carr (0-2); Darren Burke, Eoghan Barrett, Paul Scarry; Pandamp;aacute;iric Hillary (1-3), Niall Barrett (0-1); David Cunniffe (0-4), Ollie Laheen, Paul Bellew; Declan Lawless (1-4), Keith Murphy (1-1), Colm Queeney. Subs used: Alan Naughton (0-2), Damian Mannion, Michandamp;eacute;al Kelly, Martin Campbell, Shane Ruane.